Shateesha Murphy and Voluptuous Lady Boutique: Changing the Pittsburgh Plus-Size Scene

Shateesha Murphy is changing the plus size game in Pittsburgh. Her plus size brand, Voluptuous Lady Boutique, is already a hot commodity among plus people in Pittsburgh due to the exclusive and unique styles offered, but now she’s ready to turn it up a few notches. Last Saturday, VLB held the third annual all plus size fashion show and experience, Curvy and Bold at The Hill House Center Kauffman Auditorium. As her name and boutique continue to grow, she wants people to know, this isn’t just a brand, it’s a movement. I had the privilege of sitting down and learn more about Shateesha, and everything she’s been working on.

Shateesha and Ari, backstage at Curvy and Bold Fashion Show

Meet Shateesha.

Shateesha Murphy is a Pittsburgh native, mother of 2, entrepreneur, and lover of plus size fashion. She recalls always loving fashion but not always having cute clothes due to the lack of style typically offered for plus-size. Now in business for 5 years, she explains her sons are what keep her motivated to be the best mother, woman, and example she can be. Though it’s not always easy, Shateesha stays motivated by inspiring her sons and her clients to be their best.

Ari: You are one of the hottest plus brands in Pittsburgh!  What first inspired you to launch VLB? 

Shateesha: Wow thank you so much! I appreciate that because I’ve come along way.Voluptuous lady was inspired by both my love of fashion, and frustration with the lack of options available to plus-size, or as I like to be referred to as queen-size women like myself, in the fashion industry. Growing up I can remember having such a hard time finding clothes that weren’t like, moo-moos and frumpy with flowers. I vowed that one day I would have my own version of beautiful fashions for all my queen-size beauties to shop!

Ari: What are some of the struggles you’ve faced as a WOC business owner? 

Shateesha: To be honest , I haven’t had many as of yet. If had to say one thing, it would be the lack of funding and obtaining capital, especially when I first launched back in 2014. Since then, I’ve been blessed to be connected to some really dope entrepreneurs that have continuously dropped jewels on how to expand my brand and find funding resources. 

Shateesha in a custom gown by Destination: Royalty

Ari: What motivates you to keep going everyday + where do you draw inspiration from? 

Shateesha: My two little boys keep me motivated. Being able to show them the best, positive example of a woman and a mother is a really important to me. I’m also motivated by the fact that I’m inspring others. On hard day, or days when I want to fold, I go back and  read messages from people telling me how I helped them and inspired them. It really gives me a sense of purpose because I truly believe that the Most High blesses us so that can be a blessing to others.

Curvy and Bold.

Three years ago, Shateesha decided to take VLB to the next level and teamed up with local modeling agency, Pretty N Plus, as well as RLJDesigns, to bring Pittsburgh her first all plus fashion show experience. This year, the show was nothing short of spectacular, and I had the pleasure of not only getting the inside scoop and attending, but also scoring a front row seat to all the action on and off stage!

Body paint set

Ari: So let’s talk Curvy + Bold! What is it, what inspired  it, and what is your ultimate goal with this fashion experience? 

Shateesha: Curvy & Bold my baby! It is an all curvy aka queen-size fashion experience. I teamed up with Pretty N Plus modeling agency, and RLJDesigns to bring this vision  to life of putting queen-size woman on the platform they deserve! Our ultimate goal is to bring woman of all sizes out to show that style has no size and its totally ok to be comfortable in your own skin. Be true to you!

Lady in Red Set by Voluptuous Lady Boutique

And that’s exactly what she did, y’all!

Set by CayJor Boutique

The show was filled with beautiful, plus women who RIPPED the runway! The clothing was beautiful and unique. The atmosphere was was elegant yet fun, and the show was a whole vibe. It felt so magical to be up close and personal to something that has the potential to change the plus, fashion culture in Pittsburgh.

Carnival set by Pretty N Plus

Ari: What’s next for you and VLB?

Shateesha: Right now, I would say just continue to ride this wave, and expand my reach. Voluptuous Lady  is so much more than just clothing, she is turning into a movement of empowerment and encouragement to be exactly who you were created to be, we all are fearfully and wonderfully made. 

Looks by RLJDesigns

Ari: Give us one piece of advice for women who are shy or may need a little help feeling confident about their bodies? 

Shateesha: Man get out here and rock that shit!! Embrace it! We all only get one body, so love it, and cherish it. Your body is gold baby and so are you!

Set by Destination: Royalty

You can learn more about Shateesha and Voluptuous Lady Boutique online at www.voluptuousladyboutique.com. They are also on Instagram, (@vladyboutique) and on Facebook at Voluptuous Lady Boutique.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.